Kailash Satyarthi- The Nobel Prize Winner 2014

Featured Video Play Icon

Kailash Satyarthi (born on January 11, 1954) is a human rights activist from India, won the nobel prize 2014 by the Norwegian Nobel Committee on Friday. He has been awarded for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.

He has showed his great personal courage to maintain Gandhi’s tradition, has headed various forms of protests and demonstrations, all peaceful, focusing on the grave exploitation of children for financial gain.

This year there were 278 nominees for the prize, the major contenders for the prize this year were Pope Francis, the first non-European Pope in modern times.

Here is the list of all nobel prize winners in the past:

Year Name Field
1913 Rabidranath Tagore Literature
1930 C. V. Raman Physics
1968 Hargobind Khora Medicine
1979 Mother Teresa Peace
1983 Subrahmanyam Physics
1998 Amartya Sen Economics
2014 Kailash Satyarthi Peace

About the Author

Harsh is a Professional blogger, he loves to write on his fascinating topics. Connect with him on Google+

Be the first to comment on "Kailash Satyarthi- The Nobel Prize Winner 2014"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.